Wisconsin

Four hours across Northern Wisconsin

And no one in this van has bathed in days

I think after hours spent trudging through the crust of leaves

Arms swinging, legs numb, mouths wide open to the frosty cold

We are more human than we’ve ever been

Now we drive home through the snow-dusted fields

Swerving in and out of lanes of traffic

My head falls against your tired shoulder

You make me laugh; I’m going to miss you

The damp warmth in the van makes me drowsy

I fall asleep

I fall in love

 

About mayafishsticks

Since I turned 20, it's all gone downhill.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

